Prix du Livre Robert Delpire

The Fonds de dotation Neuf Cinq – Robert Delpire & Sarah Moon, created by Sarah Moon and Michel Christolhomme, presents the Robert Delpire Book Prize, faithful to his legacy, consistent with his beliefs, and referring to the eclecticism he showed throughout his life: from Henri Cartier-Bresson to Joel-Peter Witkin, fom Etienne-Jules Marey to Duane Michals, from Jane Evelyn Atwood to Claude Cahun, from Jacques Henri Lartigue to Sebastião Salgado, from Robert Frank to Michael Ackerman, from Josef Koudelka to Michel Vanden Eeckhoudt, and all the Photo Poche monographs…

It aims at supporting an authentic work, a personal expression « of what he sees, not a simple report » (Robert Delpire – Le montreur d’images), a vision, an homogeneous outcome whatever the subject.

The Robert Delpire Book Prize, awarded every 3 ears, offers the laureate a 10,000 grant to complete and refine his or her work, as well as the production of the book, in collaboration with the Fonds de dotation Neuf Cinq, which will be ensuring its design and layout - « craftsmen serving the artist in line with his thinking ».

For the 2023 Edition, the book will be published by delpire & co.

The work of the Robert Delpire Book Prize laureate will be exhibited in an institution (name of the institution to be confirmed).

Henri Cartier-Bresson and Robert Delpire
© Martine Franck / Magnum Photos

Tradition is not the worship of ashes, but the preservation of fire.

Gustav Mahler

Entry requirements and eligibility:

The candidates are requested to present a book project, that is made of a minimum of 50 photographs, a selection of 5 prints, a biography and a statement of intent.

Participation in this prize has neither age nor nationality requirements.

Selection process:

The Prize is not an open competition.

The candidates are chosen with the following selection process:

Each of the jury members will present one candidate.
The president of the jury can present two candidates. Additionally, the jury will make an informal selection of experts in the field of photography, and who will present other candidates.

In 2023, a total number of 13 candidates have submitted their book project.

Jury decision :

The jury consists of 8 figures from the world of arts.
It will be renewed for each edition (every 3 years).

Jury members – 2023 Edition

Sarah Moon - President of the jury
Quentin Bajac - Director of the Jeu de Paume, Paris
Anouk Grinberg - Actress, painter and writer
Magali Jauffret - Journalist
Wajdi Mouawad - Director of the Théâtre national de la Colline, Paris
Philippe Rousselot - Cinematographer
Natacha Wolinski - Journalist
Emmanuelle Kouchner - Editorial director of delpire & co (does not present a candidate)

Each jury member has 1 voice. The final decision is indisputable.